Discovering Netvibes

Last week I discovered Netvibes (a personal RSS aggregator) courtesy of Neeraj's blog. I had been loyal to My Yahoo! for quite a while, but I moved all my favourite feeds to Netvibes with absolutely no second thoughts.

Some great features:

  • A gmail module
  • Ability to view photos from an RSS feed (not sure if this is limited to flickr only)
  • A module to manage online storage from box.net (free upto 1GB)

The only thing I miss is being able to see my Yahoo mail from the RSS reader.

Netvibes supports POP3 access to Yahoo mail, but Yahoo does not provide POP3 access to the free version of yahoo.com mail. Yahoo does provide POP3 with either the paid version of Yahoo mail or a free address from the other
yahoo domains (like yahoo.de).

I wanted to post a screenshot of my page on Netvibes to sell this further, but it is err … down at the moment. Oh, the irony as Seth Godin would say.

7 Comments »

  1. I see that you are interested in Web 2.0 services and personalized start pages. Have you tried http://www.pageflakes.com already? It’s a similar service but offers additional features such as multiple pages and a larger number of modules and feeds.

    Cheers
    Ole

  2. burnbabyburn said

    Trolls trolls trolls

    Allover the place

    Those pesky little monster

  3. Stumblings said

    Goodbye Yahoo Plus

    This news item from Yahoo says

    Yahoo notified Yahoo Plus subscribers that the service will terminate on April 22.
    Maybe it is good news. POP access to Yahoo mail (on the yahoo.com domain) used to be part of this service. So I hope this means POP acces…

  4. […] So, prompted by the only other Oracle gentleman with enough taste to choose WordPress, Rahul, I decided to experiment a little with Netvibes. […]

  5. […] So, prompted by the only other Oracle gentleman with enough taste to choose WordPress, Rahul, I decided to experiment a little with Netvibes. […]

  6. […] prompted by the only other Oracle gentleman with enough taste to choose WordPress, Rahul, I decided to experiment a little with […]

  7. Kenton said

    Hello there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this website before but after browsing through many of the posts I realized it’s new to me.
    Anyways, I’m certainly pleased I discovered it and I’ll be book-marking it and checking back frequently!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

